Skip to content

frames + books

January 12, 2010

Tim and I have a thing for picture frames. If we could decorate our house with only two items, I’m pretty sure it would be picture frames and books. We were laughing the other day how each room in our apartment features both of those items as a sort of design element.  Maybe we’re obsessed?

I guess it shares a lot about who we are, too – we love to learn and take in new information. And we love to travel, meet new people, and create new life experiences.  I guess it’s a good way to document that.

So I’m always always looking for new ways to push the usual boundaries of frames and books – different ways to make them visually appealing.

I loved this wall of frames from the kate spade flagship shop on Fifth Avenue in New York. A few specifics I love: the use of typography, the combination of old oil paintings and abstract art, bold colors, and the book in the picture frame (two of my favs in one!).

PS – I came across these images in Lonny magazine. If you’re not familiar, you should definitely check it out. I promise it will become a must-read, especially if you are still mourning Domino.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephen M. permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:49 pm

    Great magazine recommendation. I wondered who would fill the void.

    Apparently the public can browse the magazine as online content. Personally, I’m still torn between reading the physical copy or saving millions of sheets of paper and ink. There is something special about flipping pages, folding corners, and marking my favorites. Even still, I will check back monthly to scan the latest issue and save some coin.

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

