Skip to content

library design

January 23, 2010
tags:

I’m still here in Salt Lake City. Today I had the day to myself since the Alt Summit finished up early this morning and my flight leaves late tonight. (Side note: I would highly recommend spending a day by yourself in a random city…a great way to recharge.)

Whenever I’m in a new city I always like to do something that locals would do. I still enjoy the typical things  the city is known for, but my favorite finds usually end up being the off-the-beaten-path kind of stuff … quirky shops, neighborhoods with homes that match the style of the city, or locally owned coffee shops (I’m very thankful for this one that is giving me free wi-fi right now).

So among some other off-the-beaten-path adventures today, I wandered into the Salt Lake City Public Library. It’s by far the most impressive modern library that I have been in. Take a look:

They paid attention to every detail – from the streamlined use of type throughout all the signs (even the paper signs), to the letters on top of book displays, to the reading area that overlooks the SLC mountainscape….who wouldn’t want to study or sit and read??

The library was designed by Moshe Safdie, an architect and urban designer who has done projects all over the world. And Pentagram (the design firm behind the type test I posted last week) did all of the type, signage, and identity for the library. My blackberry photos don’t do it justice – see more here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 5:32 pm

    Looked at their website. This place is crazy!!

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

