Skip to content

college to workplace

February 4, 2010
tags:

I’m super excited to be speaking at a young women’s conference at my alma mater in three weeks. The alumni association for my sorority is hosting a series of workshops that are open to all current female students at the university. The series will cover “life after college” topics like career, finances, health, living, success, purpose…all those fun grown up things.

I’m so honored to be speaking and I absolutely cannot wait to be back on a campus! I love love love the college atmosphere. Plus it feels like you’re going home when you visit your university, right?

I’ve been asked to speak about staying true to your values and faith in the workplace.  I’ll be spending some time this coming weekend prepping for the sessions (it works out great that we’re supposed to be snowed in…hoping to get lots done.)

But in thinking about what I’m going to say, I realize we all have very different work environments…and therefore different challenges.  As I’m preparing, I want to ask you – what was one of the biggest challenges, or perhaps the biggest “shocks”, you faced when joining the “working world” that you wished someone had shared with you?

{photo from leibemarlene vintage look book via ruby press}

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 7:10 am

    When I started in the workplace I made next to nothing… i.e. about the same as I was waiting tables in college. I wish I’d had realistic expectations about how I would support myself. I truly had no idea how expensive it can be to pay rent, insurance, gas, electricity etc. etc. and still want to have some left over for fun.

  2. Lisa permalink
    February 5, 2010 6:06 pm

    hum…I know this seems so obvious or juvenile, but adjusting to “no breaks” was really hard at first. Getting Christmas day off when you’re used to having a whole month was a big fat smack in the face. I feel like it took awhile for my body and mind to adjust to not having little times to relax and rejuvenate in between stressful seasons.

    While we’re at it…. :) I also didn’t realize how much time I spent outside walking around on campus. I now get to walk to the bathroom…wow. I see outside after the sun has set.

Trackbacks

  1. wardrobe remix « Silhouette
  2. weekend wear :: the college speaker « Silhouette

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

