Skip to content

tornado

April 25, 2010
tags:

I think the tornado that has plowed through my life over the past 10 days is finally starting to  dissipate.

We are in our new place. Moving was quick and successful, thanks to some of our best friends and my dad who kindly took their Saturday to help us out. I got really sick, though, the next day. I was completely rundown and just the thought of unpacking even one box was too much for my body to handle.

I went headlong into a work week that had no mercy on the fact that I was recovering from the flu and that my house was covered in mountains of boxes. (This does not make it easy to find a) clothes to wear to work, b) your deodorant, or c) anything else for that matter…). I had late nights most nights, which didn’t bode well for getting anything else accomplished around the house. Tim is the moving saint – he handled so much of the unpacking and “getting settled” must-dos while I was working. And he never complained once.

It made me realize that “home” truly is a sanctuary. I am thankful that I have a husband and a home that I come to that bring me peace and rest.  I value that more than I realize.

I took Friday off to unpack and organize…so thankful I did. We’re slowly getting things in their rightful place. Tim and I had a hot date on Friday night at the Container Store. The store clerk literally laughed when she saw us pull up to the register with our cart full-o-stuff. But it has all been a God-send for our teensy kitchen.

AND Tim and I celebrated his (early) birthday with a day trip to NYC Saturday!! More on that to come…

Most of all, thanks for putting up with me while I’ve been away. I’m glad to be back.

{photo from littlebirds}

One Comment leave one →
  1. bird by bird permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:19 am

    glad you’re feeling better, sis.

    can’t wait to see pictures from NYC and the New Del(hi) Ray pad. (that’s what I am going to call it from now on).

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

