Skip to content

a new chapter

June 3, 2012

Last week, I turned the page on a significant chapter of my life. Friday was my last day with the Congressman I have served for over six years. On Thursday, I bid farewell to my boss, colleagues, and friends over a dinner they hosted for me. The following afternoon, I laid my badge and blackberry on my desk, returned my key to the office and said goodbye.

In the past, I have not talked about my professional life on this blog. Partly for discretion, but also because I needed an outlet from my professional life. However, the end of this amazing chapter deserves some introspection and you deserve some context as I return to this blog again.

I started my journey with this Congressman in college when I interned in both his district and Washington, DC offices. Following college, I secured a full time position in his Capitol Hill office, which led to jobs as his Communications Manager and finally as his Communications Director where I have been the past several years.

This chapter holds a special place in my heart. It was the first chapter that I decided all on my own. It was the first real job I took. The first place I had a job evaluation. The first place I felt the thrill of a promotion.

It was where I learned how to land my boss in USA Today or the Wall Street Journal. It was where I was given the tools and the freedom to explore branding, marketing, and design, which have become some of my greatest professional enjoyments. It was where I learned the difficult task of being someone’s spokesperson and the intricacies of learning someone else’s voice.

I sat in meetings with high ranking officials. I shook hands with American icons. I attended meetings in the Library of Congress. I sat a few seats from the First Lady at the State of the Union Address. I worked 12 hours days. I ate lunch at my desk. I drank Folgers coffee because it was the closest caffeine within walking distance of my desk. I felt the tension of work-life demands. I became a better writer. I embraced new technology. I became filled with gratitude for the many people who have mentored me and helped me over the years.

On Friday, I walked away from Capitol Hill a much different person than the young, bright-eyed 22-year-old fresh out of college I had arrived as. I left a seasoned professional, yes. But more importantly, I left with a stronger character. I made mistakes that brought humility and helped me grow in wisdom. I learned that identity is bigger than a business card. I came to value community as the most important part of my career journey. I learned the value of the Sabbath. I learned what it means to step into the positional and spiritual authority that is ours through Christ.

I hope I always live in such a way that each chapter of my life is unique in some way, but I also know that not every chapter may be so momentous, at least in the way the world sees it. I can’t help but be filled with excitement for what’s next, though.

I am leaving the Hill to pursue my masters in nonprofit and corporate communication at Johns Hopkins University. At the same time, I am excited to be doing independent brand consulting, writing and designing. These are areas of communications that I love.

I am embarking on a season where the lines of my professional and personal lives will be blurred. I am entering a season where daily structure will change frequently.  Most importantly, it will provide me flexibility as my husband and I raise our one-year-old daughter. And while there will be new lessons to learn and new character to build, I am excited.

I hope you’ll continue to follow me here as I share a bit of life in this new chapter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Vickie permalink
    June 4, 2012 11:54 am

    So proud of you and praying God places you in the center of his will and favor.

  2. June 5, 2012 2:43 pm

    excited for whats to come!

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

