Skip to content

playing work

August 21, 2012

When I was a kid, I read and wrote a lot. For fun at home, I would sit at my dad’s boxy MS-DOS computer and type stories and journal entries in a word processor document that my dad had created for me. I laid out newsletters and campaigns for imaginary causes and companies so I could choose the most appropriate clip art to go with the article I had written. I was eight.

Sure, I spent my fair share of time on the playground, playing prince and princess, and taping paper to my bicycle spokes so that my wheels made that click-click-click sound when I peddled. But I was most comfortable reading one of my favorite books, telling the story of one of my friends, or pretending to “teach” a room full of people (i.e. my sister and her well-meaning friend).

Sometimes, we choose to love a skill or talent – like learning to appreciate culinary art or enjoying the aesthetic of a well-designed room.  And then sometimes, those passions are so innate within us that we cannot remember a time that it wasn’t a part of us. That’s how communication has been for me.

I’ve been busy the past several weeks. I wrapped up my first graduate school course with a paper and a final. I starting working with three new clients on some exciting communication + marketing and design projects. I’ve met some fascinating people who have inspired me in my work. I’ve had a lot going on and it’s  been hard work. But it also feels very fun. I recently commented to Tim that it kind of feels like I’m “playing work.” I think what I mean is, it feels a lot like what I loved to do in childhood.

And shouldn’t that be what work feels like? In childhood, our interests are in their most pure form. We haven’t been heavily influenced by those that might try to pigeon hole our talents, or sucked into the dark hole of the 9 to 5 (or 6 or 7 or 8 p.m.). As children, we had all the time in the world, so we did what we loved doing. Shouldn’t it make sense that we make time for it today? If not for vocation, at least for leisure.

What did you love to do as a child? Is it a part of your daily life today? Do you miss it? I’d love to hear.

JessicaMancari Instagram Collage

(the past couple weeks in instagram. follow me at jessicamancari)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth L permalink
    November 30, 2012 2:38 am

    Hello, I love your photography! I was wondering what app you used for your collage :) I really enjoy your blog as well!

    • November 30, 2012 4:28 pm

      Thank you! I usually use photoshop for the layouts I place on the blog. For my iPhone, I love the Diptic app.

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

