Skip to content

seeing

October 16, 2012

I love instagram not because it makes my pictures look awesome or vintage, or because it’s simpler than Facebook (which, these days, makes me overwhelmed and miffed as soon as I login).

I love instagram because it tells a story through sight. No words. No commentary. Just sight. It captures what people see each day, in one particular moment. And so a brass doorknob becomes beautiful not because it’s picturesque, but because it represents what the person sees at that point in time. A sleeping baby isn’t just a photo of my friend’s cute kid, but a close frame of the moment’s stillness. A photograph of a building is not just architecturally beautiful – it’s beautiful because I’m seeing it from that person’s perspective.

I love instagram because instagram has soul.

Here are some of my favorite people I follow. Some of them I know in true life, and others I only know through their photos.

 

meldenius: This is a former professor of mine – one of my favorites, actually (and if you’re reading this, Dr. Melton, I promise I’m not sucking up!)

 


jilldv: I think I found her by crawling through my sister’s following list on instagram. Nevertheless, she’s now one of my favorites.

 

stephenmancari: My dear brother-in-law captures what he’s seeing in Mali.

 

simplygrove: She’s also one of my favorite bloggers. I like her eye for design and love for family.

 

alhareth: Sights from across the world in saudi arabia

 

carissajg: Carissa is a photographer and her husband is a filmmaker. They take beautiful photos.

 

What about you? Who do you love on instagram?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard permalink
    October 16, 2012 4:48 pm

    Enjoyed the post!

    I like to see through these peoples eyes:
    aiko__o
    circa_1983
    pauloctavious

  2. SMancari permalink
    October 26, 2012 7:47 pm

    Thanks for the mention.
    I love:
    amandajanejones
    keeganmatthewpketron
    mchltckr
    carmynjoy
    sandrajuto

  3. SMancari permalink
    October 26, 2012 7:48 pm

    PS these are separate
    keeganmatthew
    pketron

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

