Skip to content

vine isn’t instagram

February 4, 2013

vine2

I’m sure you’ve heard of Vine? The new 6-second video social network?

I signed up, but I haven’t posted a video yet because I’m not sure yet how I want to use it. To be honest, everything I’ve seen so far has basically been a six-second photo. Boring.

Besides some folks at ad and creative agencies, it’s pretty clear most people haven’t figured out how to use it. Vine isn’t meant to show a snapshot of a specific moment. That’s what Instagram is for. Vine uses video, and video is meant to chronicle a story. Think ultra-mini documentary: Seeing a facial expression grow to a smile. Capturing the footsteps in a crowded metro station. Or the guy playing the water glasses.

One of the initial comments I heard from someone is that Vine won’t make it because it’s hard to be creative on the fly.  I think that may be true to an extent. It takes a significant amount of creative thought process to piece together a compelling 6-second video. What do you think?

My goal this week is to make video on Vine that doesn’t suck. Perhaps you’ll join me in the challenge.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2013 4:23 pm

    I’ve been feeling a little confused about Vine too–What’s its purpose? Is it worthwhile? And your thought on spontaneous creativity being difficult to achieve resonates with me. However, the quirky people behind 5 Second Films have been honing the skill of storytelling-in-seconds for a while, proving that creativity takes thought and practice. http://5secondfilms.com/

    • February 5, 2013 3:32 pm

      Glad I’m not the only one :) Thanks for the tip on 5 Second Films – I hadn’t heard of them!

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

