Skip to content

shared pinterest boards: do or don’t?

February 25, 2013

MarcJohns

My sister and I started sharing a Pinterest board a few months after I had Emerson when I felt frumpy and blah. I needed some simple inspiration to pull myself together and Janna had an idea: she would pin some photos of quick and easy ways to do my hair that would make me feel cute while I changed diapers and wiped spit up.

Now, the shared board has become a place for us to pin our own favorite hair styles. I love that when you look at the page it’s pretty obvious to see who is pinning what (Janna: short, daring cuts. Me: top buns and messy braids). You can take a look at the shared board here.

Shared boards can be a great tool for collaboration. Brands are using shared boards strategically where top pinners and style influencers either take control of one of the brand’s boards for a day, or join them in long-term collaboration with a shared board. Anthropologie, Target and The Honest Co. have all done it. Publishing company Chronicle Books shares almost all of their boards with “guest curators,” using their authors to do a lot of the promotional work.

It can be a win-win for both: the brand gets the advantage of the pinner’s followers and the pinner’s social media knowledge. The pinner gets the advantage of association with a household brand name.

Tell me – do you share a Pinterest board with anyone? How do you use them? Share a link with me in the comments section – I’d love to check it out!

[Photo credit: illustration by marc johns from one of Chronicle Books’ shared boards]

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 4:57 pm

    yes! but of course you know that ;)

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

