Skip to content

keeping house plants alive

May 16, 2013

herbs

I have yet to keep a house plant alive. That’s not an exaggeration. Every plant I ever owned died a slow and wilted death, due admittedly to my own neglect. My solution: write-off house plants all together. Instead, I stuck to placing fresh flowers in the house, which are expected to die so I’d be off the hook in trying to keep them alive.

Last week, I decided to turn a new page in the horticulture chapter of my life and take on the challenge of house plants once again. I’ve noticed that many homes and apartments I admire have touches of greenery added here and there. So we made a trip over to our local nursery and bought some ferns, a kalanchoe plant, terra cotta pots and a few herbs. We’re a week in and I’m happy to report that they’re all still alive! I’m actually attempting to pay attention to them, and I’m feeling brave.

There’s something emboldening about taking up a project or a challenge that you’ve written off, even when it’s something small like house plants. It causes us to think with a different perspective and challenges us with new creative outlets.

Is there something you’ve written off that you’d like to try your hand at again? (And, do you have any tips for keeping house plants alive??)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives

