Skip to content

celebrating female heroines

May 22, 2013

disney-princess-alternative-photo-shoot

How awesome is this? After noticing a trend towards Disney princess dress-up photo shoots, Texas photographer Jamie Moore had her daughter Emma choose real female heroines for a dress-up photo shoot, picking women who made history in all areas of life, from Amelia Earhart, to Helen Keller, to Coco Chanel.

Here’s what she had to say:

“I noticed quite a pattern of so many young girls dressing up as beautiful Disney Princesses, no matter where I looked 95% of the “ideas” were the “How to’s” of  how to dress your little girl like a Disney Princess. Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Disney Princesses, from their beautiful dresses, perfect hair, gorgeous voices and  most with ideal love stories in the mix you can’t help but become entranced with the characters. But it got me thinking, they’re just characters, a writers tale of a princess (most before 1998)…an unrealistic fantasy for most girls (Yay Kate Middleton!).

“It started me thinking about all the REAL women for my daughter to know about and look up too, REAL women who without ever meeting Emma have changed her life for the better.”

disney-princess-alternative-photos

Such a neat way to celebrate real heroes. And the pictures are adorable too. You can read more about it and see more photos here.

What female heroine would you choose? I keep thinking it would also be fun to choose a woman in your family as the subject for the photo shoot, like a grandmother or an aunt.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 9:56 am

    very cool!

Leave a comment

  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

  • Subscribe to my blog via email.

  • Archives